Game Changers

Curtin students have a long history of making a difference to people’s lives, driving industries forward and giving back to the community. The Game Changers workshop series is designed to help you explore your leadership potential, develop your self-awareness and learn to work with others to create lasting change!

You don’t have to wait until you’re settled in to a career to start thinking about leadership. You already impact others and the world around you through your actions every day. That means it’s never too early think about what you want that impact to be, and how you’re going to change the game to make tomorrow better!

Game Changers workshops cover a variety of fundamental leadership topics, including leadership 101, goal setting, teamwork, and forming habits for success, as well as innovative concepts such as building networks, driving change and leveraging diversity.

Interested in Game Changers?

You are welcome to attend all workshops in the Game Changers series, or to select only those that are of particular interest to you. Each week we’ll focus on a different topic, with an online or face-to-face session available.

Leadership 101

Explore leadership definitions, theories and styles, and begin creating your own development plan

Online: Tuesday 3 August, 1pm to 2.30pm

In person: Wednesday 4 August, 12pm to 2pm


Self-awareness

Consider the role of values, beliefs, emotional intelligence and self-regulation in leadership

Online: Tuesday 10 August, 1pm to 2.30pm

In person: Wednesday 11 August, 12pm to 2pm


Goal setting 

Explore different frameworks and strategies, and how goal setting can be a leadership tool

Online: Tuesday 17 August, 1pm to 2.30pm

In person: Wednesday 18 August, 12pm to 2pm


Teamwork

Discuss team characteristics, and the tools, skills and mindsets needed for successful collaboration

Online: Tuesday 24 August, 1pm to 2.30pm

In person: Wednesday 25 August, 12pm to 2pm


Public speaking 

Identify strategies to overcome your nerves, and examine key elements of effective presentations

Online: Tuesday 31 August, 1pm to 2.30pm

In person: Wednesday 1 September, 12pm to 2pm


Forming habits for success 

Explore strategies to make and break habits, and how to make these changes stick

Online: Tuesday 14 September, 1pm to 2.30pm

In person: Wednesday 15 September, 12pm to 2pm


Conflict management 

Discuss approaches to conflict management and the constructive use of feedback as a tool

Online: Tuesday 21 September, 1pm to 2.30pm

In person: Wednesday 22 September, 12pm to 2pm


Building networks 

Develop skills and strategies to initiate, maintain and grow strong networks

Online: Tuesday 28 September, 1pm to 2.30pm

In person: Wednesday 29 September, 12pm to 2pm


Driving change 

Discover strategies for driving projects and the tools needed to realise a vision

Online: Tuesday 5 October, 1pm to 2.30pm

In person: Wednesday 6 October, 12pm to 2pm


Leveraging diversity 

Explore the concept of ‘culture’ and its impact on workplaces and communities

Online: Tuesday 12 October, 1pm to 2.30pm

In person: Wednesday 13 October, 12pm to 2pm